Eco Spectator: A Toronto for Toronto renewable energy source for all things ECO-friendly

Three Cowra Shire Schools Benefit from Commonwealth Government’s National Solar Schools Program

District schools switch on to solar systems

Above: Holmwood Public School . . . $33,000 for a 7.2kW solar power system.

THREE Cowra Shire small schools – Wyangala Dam, Holmwood and Gooloogong – have each received grants to become more environmentally sustainable under the Commonwealth Government’s National Solar Schools Program.

The grants will be used to install renewable solar energy systems, rainwater tanks and other energy efficiency measures to cut pollution and save money on electricity bills, says New South Wales Senator Ursula Stephens.

Gooloogong Public School and Holmwood Public School have been allocated $33,000 each for the installation of 7.2kW solar systems, while Wyangala Dam Public School will receive $7158 to install other energy efficiency systems.

They number among 14 schools in the Hume electorate to receive grants.

This program’s popularity shows that schools are keen to reduce their energy consumption and conserve water, giving students and their school communities the opportunity to experience renewable energy generation first-hand, says Senator Stephens.

Since the program began, more than 5400 schools (almost to 60 per cent) across the nation have received a grant.

Other schools in Hume to secure funding for rainwater tanks, a solar power system or other energy efficient items are Wingello Public School, Binda Public School, Monteagle Public School, Yass Public School, Tirranna Public School, Rye Park Public School, Wombat Public School, Dalton Public School, Caragabal Public School, Oakdale Public School and Wilton Public School.

Applications were assessed using merit-based criteria.

Schools demonstrated value for money, as well as environmental and educational benefits, 
says Senator Stephens.

Applications from schools located in remote or low socio-economic areas received additional weighting to allow funding to be directed to schools most in need.

The 2012-13 funding round was the final opportunity for schools to apply for a National Solar Schools Program grant.

Further information about the National Solar Schools Program, including a list of successful grant recipients, is available on the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency website

Source: Cowra Community News 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: